Books, 2013

I’ve finally updated my books page from last year, now that it’s almost March. I was trying to come up with a top five list but it was impossible. Ten was easier, but by a hair. Roughly in order of how much I loved them, are my favorite books of 2013: (for my daft reviews, please refer to the Books page)

The Seventh Samurai by Helen De Witt

The Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

The Gone Away World by Nick Harkaway

The Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (do not judge it by its later being mangled into a Tom Hanks vehicle!)

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway

A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Mohammed Hanif

Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli

The Bastard of Istanbul by Elif Şafak

So thank you, marvelous books, for keeping me company, entertaining me, and making me think about stuff.

Now: what books did you enjoy in 2013? And what should I read in 2014? Best suggestion wins a kindle or nook version of any of the above books.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books, 2013

  1. Pingback: Books 2013 | agent L abroad

Leave a Reply

