PSA Regarding Sandwiches

This week I was so very, very homesick for Turkey, and one thing I was particularly homesick for was a particular wrap sandwich I used to get all the time at Rulo. I never thought I’d miss Turkish food, (its sheer ubiquity made us all yearn for taco parties and hamburgers and casseroles. When I cooked I made pasta carbonaras and Southern breakfasts and extravagant curries.) but there I was.

So in one of the fits of insomnia I’ve suffered from since I was, you know, in Turkish jail, I looked up recipes, (again, never cooked Turkish food) and today I took a walk to the grocery store and came back with bunches of stuff and I made what might be my favorite sandwich ever, after a proper grilled cheese and a rueben.

Instructions:

1.Get a package of tortillas. Whole Foods will probably only have the plain ones  in an annoyingly small size, but if you actually live in a neighborhood with conveniences like non-ridiculous grocery stores, try to get the big ones. If you’re in Turkey, just buy lavaş bread and be done with it.

2. Get chickpeas simmering, and while you’re at it, put 8 cups of pomegranate juice in a pan with maybe a third of a cup of sugar and the juice of a lemon. That’s right people! We’re making our own nar ekşisi! You’ll wanna get that down to about two syrupy cups.

3. Divide your 5 eggplants into two teams and make yourself up a batch of patlıcan satatası and a batch of ekşili patlıcan. Note, I love how Turkeys For Life write recipes cause that’s how I cook myself, but if you’re the kind of kid who needs measurements, well, just google. I can’t help you. If you do follow their recipe, though, take their advice about adding the pomegranate syrup. That’s the whole reason we’re making it, other than that it’s delicious.

4. When the chickpeas are done, toss them is the wee-est bit of olive oil and add a bit of chopped parsley.

5. Now. Layer. In anywhich way you feel like it: a small handful of the chickpeas; a tiny bit of crumbled feta; a small bit of mixed greens; some thin slices of red onion; the two kinds of eggplant salad, and a smear of garlic yogurt. (which is just what it sounds like. a cup of yogurt with two garlic cloves, minced or pressed, and a pinch of salt mixed in. I like to whip in a bit of water so it’s saucier and pourable. If you’re in Turkey, though, just go to Migros and buy it. It’s in the dairy aisle to the right of the plain yogurt, on the bottom shelf, next to the cucumber yogurt.) Now, when I made the sour eggplant salad, I added a hefty dose of red pepper flakes for heat. But if you didn’t, you might wanna take this moment to sprinkle some on top, and maybe even add that super weird Turkish oregano mint mixture. It’s your call.

Roll that bad boy up and feel free to send me thank you notes.

Afiyet olsen!

This entry was posted in Eating, Recipe, Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

